Baking: Sticky Toffee Pudding

20130402-110343.jpg

We had guests around yesterday for Sunday Roast Dinner and I have to say, I’m becoming pretty good at it! The timings are coming together pretty well and I’m experimenting with more meats and vegetables. I make everything from scratch, including my Yorkshire Pudding, gravy and cheese sauce for the broccoli and cauliflower cheese melt. So when my fiance asked me what we should buy for dessert, I feel like I’d be giving up buying it instead of making it myself. Also, I should point out that I used to run a very successful full time baking business from my home, so I would feel quite a fraud not making a dessert.

This dessert, however, was passed onto when I was on maternity leave and when I wasn’t baking professionally. I had only ever baked this for my close family members so when we had invited our married friends round with their children, it seemed a perfect opportunity to make it.

All I can say is whilst they ate it, there was silence round the table until every person had cleaned their plates and said how delicious it was!

So here it is! I’ve got to say, I never realised what was in Sticky Toffee Pudding until my mother in law told me! I cannot believe its dates!

FOR CAKE

150g Stoned dates
1 tsp bicaronate of soda
225ml boiling water
175g self rsising flour
1 tsp baking powder
50g butter
200g brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract

FOR SAUCE

50g butter
20tsp btown dugar
8 tsp double cream

1. Put dates in a bowl with bicarb and water. This breaks the dates down. Leave to cool

2. Sift flour and baking powder. Add butter and rub together to make breadcrumb consistancy.

3. Add sugar, egg and extract to breadcrumbs and mix well.

4. Add dates, stir and bake for about 25 minutes.

5. When cake is ready, put sugar, butter and cream in a pan and stir until sugar dissolves. Drizzle over cake and eat warm!

20130402-110413.jpg

Leave a Reply

