Spring in York

I travelled to York today for the first time with my children. Isn’t it strange when you live so close to somewhere but you’ve never visited there? We had a lovely day and I took my camera with me.

_IMG2993#

The last time I posted on this blog was in Nov 2013. A lot has happened since then but the one thing that has changed that I would like to share today is my beloved camera. It goes with me everywhere and I now have quite a collection of lenses since I bought it in January.

_IMG3000#

The last time I posted pictures, they were from my Nikon bridge camera. Even my Paris pictures are taken with my bridge, which gives me a good reason to return there soon, only this time with my Pentax. I can’t wait to get it booked, I just have to decide which season to travel in next as I’ve already catured autumn.

_IMG2991#

So today we visited York, around 60 miles from my home. Usually, I like to do a bit of research about the place I’m visting but today, I went with the flow. We had glorious weather, for a change, which allowed me to take some creative images. These were taken at York Minster, a church with a 2000 year history.

_IMG2997#

I tried out my new lens first and these next images are directly off my sim card. The only change I have made is the watermark. These images are purely unedited. Arn’t they interesting!

_IMG2999#

I’m really interested in making images look older than they are. This can be easily done digitally but I’m a big believer in very little editing. Instead, I try to take to take the best picture I can so I don’t have to edit it later in Photoshop. I also like to manipulate images once they’ve been printed, but that’s for a different post. My next mission is dark room photography which I’ll be learning in September…I’ve already started buying my vintage 35mm film cameras!

_IMG2996#

So like I said, these images are taken straight off my Pentax K500 but they had a special lens on to create the effect shown. Mostly, its the blurred effect I was going for but as I looked to the sun, it gave off a rainbow like halo. Just heavenly, espcially given the location…..

_IMG2995#

signature2

 

Leave a Reply

